Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram have become a core part of our life. However, it is argued that they have a pessimistic impact on both community and individuals. I adhere to the thought that these websites have a profound negative impact. This essay, will delve into various negative impacts these portals have. Firstly, social media websites hurt a lot of social and individual sentiments. Not only, there are several social posts that can be categorized as irrelevant but also, the freedom to post anything leads to communal riots. For example, Donald Trump used Twitter to share a post about the results of the US elections which led to various riots and accidents in New York city. Also, at an individual level social media has started hurting relationships. People tend to spend more time online than interacting with their loved ones personally. As a result, relationships have become shallow as people have no real desire to interact. Secondly, social media addiction is a major problem developed in people nowadays. Adults and children waste a lot of time in posting, sharing or scrolling on social media and thus fail to pay attention on their work or studies, resulting in bad performance. Also, too much screen time leads to various health problems such as, weak eyesight and social anxiety. Additionally, excessive use of social media has also seen tremendous growth in cybercrime. For instance, people who regularly post or share their details on social media can be easily imposed and tracked where they are. In conclusion, although social sites such as Facebook are beneficial to some extent. I strongly agree to with the argument that they have more devastating impact as individuals become addicts and everyone has the right to post anything.