Some people believe that individuals who earn a lot of money are the most successful. Others say that the individuals who contribute to the society (such as scientists or teachers) are the most successful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nature of success has always been a point of contention. People argue whether it is determined by financial gains or by giving to the community. To my mind, success should be measured by one’s contribution to the society and long-term effects of our activity. It is easy to see why for some people wealth equals prosperity. First of all, such basic needs as good housing or healthy food cannot be met without money. Moreover, not everywhere such essential governmental services as good healthcare or safety are affordable to everyone, unless you earn more than average wages. Besides, finances give people opportunity to travel, see other countries and explore other cultures, which is considered by many one of the greatest joys of life. From this point of view success equals comfortable and enjoyable life. On the other hand, we can regard living in a safe and prosperous society as an integral part of success. Such community is impossible to build without people who make it better. For example, a scientist who finds a cure for a disease becomes a saviour of many lives and thus can be considered successful. A businessman, who cares not only about personal wealth but also about giving to his community, can become a very influential person. The consequences of such actions have long term effects because they touch on more than one individual and can influence whole mankind. To conclude, I disagree that only material criteria determine success. In my opinion well-being of the society should be taken into account when looking at someone’s achievements. With such approach contributing to the society can become a measure of success.