Some people say that universities should be concern with educating people so that they will have wide general knowledge and be able to consider important matters from and informed view point. Other people say that universities should make or train students to do the jobs required by the society, and not concern themselves with broader issues. What do you think?

Some believe that universities should provide students with wide general knowledge allowing them to consider important problems from an informed perspective. Others say that universities should help in making or training students to do the jobs demanded by society, and they should not be bothered by broader issues. I personally think that the first approach is more beneficial as with a solid foundation a person will be up-to-date with trends and may switch to another profession. Firstly, general knowledge can give a broader view of many things in our fast-paced world. In other words, it may help in determining the current trends and, also, in predicting the future ones. Not only can such knowledge assist in finding the right speciality but also it provides an advantage against other candidates. For instance, students that see global trends are highly likely to identify and choose a job with a high salary and great potential than those who do not. Secondly, wide knowledge will allow young people to quickly change professions that are substituted by newer ones. This is why graduates with such knowledge are highly likely to be successful in the future. Additionally, more and more positions in the job market require experts having expertise in different spheres. For example, in the USA, the number of professions requiring interdisciplinary knowledge has increased by 40% compared to the last year. In conclusion, while some say that universities should produce specialists doing the jobs required by society, I think that broad general knowledge should be given to students. This will allow them to see global trends and give them the ability to switch to newer professions.