Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

One of the most important aspects of culture is language. Although, you can grasp the understanding of someone’s culture without knowing their language, complete assimilation, on the other hand, requires the need to communicate in their language. Here, this essay agrees with the notion that a language is a necessary tool that is used to realize the culture of a particular place. Not knowing the language creates a communication gap. However, one can still communicate basic ideas using certain words or gestures, but to communicate effectively they need to learn the language properly. For instance, while ordering food in a certain place you can use hand gestures to communicate your order, whereas, to make strong relationships or to learn someone’s culture you need to be able to communicate with them in their language. This will enable the person to appreciate other cultures more authentically, which will in turn lead to greater assimilation. Therefore, it is absolutely necessary to learn the language if you want to acknowledge their culture. On the contrary, not learning the language can leave one secluded in a foreign country. A person may be able to attend different cultural events and still enjoy them to some extent, but you need to interact with others to learn things related to their cultural festivities. For example, if one goes to a Chinese museum, they can enjoy the paintings over there but they cannot read the writings on the depictions thoroughly if they do not know Chinese. Furthermore, not knowing the language will prevent the person to communicate with others who might help them understand the history of the elements in the museum. Consequently, a greater acknowledgment of traditions results from a better understanding of their native language. To summarise, a person traveling to another country can enjoy the scenic beauty and culture to some extent but to fully realize one ’s culture deeper know-how of language is a necessity. Finally, we should strive to learn a country’s language if our objective is to understand their culture.