Many students find it is harder to study at university or college compared to when they were in grade school. Why is this? What are some possible solutions for this problem?

Students who have managed to achieve good marks at the school level often find it difficult to attain a similar level of performance in tertiary studies. This is a common phenomenon in today’s world which needs immediate attention from teaching professionals. This essay will illustrate the causes for the mentioned affair and further share some suggestions to overcome the matter. The main cause for the issue is the difference of syllabus in primary and secondary level education compared to tertiary level. The school- level subjects are mostly based on theoretical learnings whereas university or college level subjects comprise of more real-life learnings. Moreover, the highlighted variation in the curriculum has further contributed to change the evaluation mechanism. For instance, the possibility of succeeding in a school exam is easier with good memorization whereas a college- level assessment mostly could not get through with a similar approach. This is the reason why the majority of the undergraduates are failing even the exams are open book. The mentioned causes could be corrected with solutions suggested in this paragraph. Firstly, the curriculum gap needs to be bridged, more practical learning approaches should be implemented at the primary and secondary level. For example, if the learning outcome is related to business registration, the pupils should be given the freedom to visit the registry office and obtain the relevant information. Secondly, self-learning should be instilled from the inception of secondary level education so that kids are well prepared for the next level. Thirdly, the evaluation mechanism needs to be aligned with the tertiary level. Finally and most importantly learning should be aligned where pupils would motivate to explore and observe rather than memorize the books. In conclusion, students failing in higher education is a concurrent matter, as mentioned, curriculum differences and variation in assessment criteria’s are the major problems for the mentioned matter. This issue can be overcome by implementing certain structural changes in the subjects.