Do you think it is important for children to learn art?

It is generally believed that art plays a fundamental role in society since artists are able to express their thoughts and culture through their work. Meanwhile, some people argue that children waste their time learning arts at school, many others, however, assert that art can help students to express themselves. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the latter view. Learning arts at school is important to create a comprehensive learning environment for students. Firstly, young children are not good linguistically, therefore it can be difficult to understand their mental health. However, children can express themselves through their paintings, sketches or writings, which makes it easier to detect their mental issues. Additionally, creative activities help children to deal with stress because art promotes harmony and other spiritual values. For instance, if a child has only science and other subjects, not related to creativity, they may be depressed by the never-ending school syllabus. Alternatively, children should not focus on arts at the determent of the other subjects, in order to facilitate, both mental and physical health. While it is true that art enriches culture, it plays little or no role in improving our lives, which means that children who choose art as their occupation may have less value for society jobs. Obviously, there are exceptions such as talented kids, no doubt that their interests in the arts should be supported by parents. To sum up, I am convinced that arts should be in the school curriculum of students, the importance of which cannot be denied. It would encourage them to become creative thinkers and innovative individuals. Thus, school systems must strive to maintain a balance in their syllabus.