Government should support old building restoration or invest in the construction of new houses and roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that government’s money should be spent on restoring old buildings, new houses, and roads. I personally agree with this statement for the following reasons. It is important to allocate the taxpayer’s money on maintaining old buildings. Firstly, old buildings have some special values that are unique to each culture and nation. Maintaining these building means preserving the cultural values of a country. In fact, every material used to make these building would degrade overtime due to many factors such as dust, chemical reactions or microbes that are present in the air. Thus, maintaining and restoring buildings can help to prolong the lifetime of these buildings. Secondly, fixing the old buildings also contribute to ensure the safety of people who comes to the building. Old structure may not be safe to operate as they did in the past, thus, maintaining the building could help to upgrade the old structure to avoid any accidents in the future. Government should also allocate the money to build new houses and roads to meet the demanding growth of the global population. Recent years have seen a dramatic increase of the population thanks to the advancement of technology and health care science. As the number of people are rising at an unprecedented rate, the demands for accommodation and transportation also go up quickly. If the government do not spend money on housing and roads, more and more people will become homeless, and the street will get traffic jams more often. As a result, the investment on new houses and roads would help to accommodate more people and solve the problem of homelessness and busy traffic. In conclusion, I believe it is important for the government’s money to be allocated to both old and new facilities to preserve the cultural values as well as to meet the needs of society.