It has become easier and more affordable for people to travel to other countries. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples from your experience.

Affordable travelling has made it possible for travelers from diverse socioeconomic backgrounds to tread diverse and distant locations across the world. This phenomenon has been hailed by many as a positive trend even though it does also have a darker side to it. The possibility of more and more people affording to visit overseas to distant location has opened up a whole new horizon for humanity. Travelling opens up minds and gives an opportunity to travelers to not only experience the different cultures but also assimilate them with their own. This has paved way for creating an unparalleled understanding among the natives of various countries. The travelers travel across as unofficial ambassadors of their own countries, and get a chance to interact with the locals. This intermingling paves way for a better understanding and brushing aside tribal attitudes and biases that people otherwise harbor. Moreover, an increase in number of international travelers has helped tourism flourish and develop into a full-fledged industry which is generating huge revenues and fueling economies besides, creating employment for the locals at various levels. This has also enabled the governments of the countries being visited to fund restoration and maintenance of the locations and monuments that were otherwise in debilitated state due to absence of adequate money for maintenance. In contrast, extensive travelling has also contributed to an unprecedented rise in pollution levels with more and more airlines flying frequently across the globe. To add to that, this trend is also leading to distortion of local economies where the people are shunning their traditional occupations and taking up seasonal employment linked to travel which exposes them to seasonal income fluctuations. To sum up, I strongly believe affordable travel is a boon for humanity and its benefits far outweigh its drawbacks.