Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, the debate on whether living somewhere where a foreign language is required can cause serious problems has been heated. As far as I am concerned, I can only agree to a small extent. In this essay, I will outline the problems and elaborate on my stance. To begin with, language is not necessarily a barrier to making friends. For example, people can communicate with each other with little vocabulary and a lot of hand gestures. As chatting with body language can not only convey the idea in a more vital way but also help build greater bonds between two people, users of 2 different languages may still have the interest to chat with each other once they found the similarity between them. Therefore, people can still find their common hobbies and hang out with each other even though they cannot communicate fluently. Moreover, the use of advanced technology may solve the practical problem caused by foreign language. To illustrate this, the development of technology allows people to use online translators in a very convenient way. Even though the grammar may not be that accurate for people who are not sophisticated in that foreign language, daily communication will not be hindered with technological applications. In this way, people can still ask for help in their daily life when they encounter some difficulties. In conclusion, it is undeniable that using a foreign language can bring some inconveniences. Nevertheless, as long as people can communicate with their body languages and instant translators, communication can still go on without causing any serious problems.