The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Why is this happening? What it leads to? How it can be tackled?

The issue of overweight people is not new; however, only in the recent decade, a 20% rise in western nation’s children putting on extra weight has been observed. Their unhealthy lifestyle can be held accountable for the same, and the results are in the form of low productivity, whereas changing routines can solve this. Looking at these children ’s practices, it is vivid that little concern is being paid towards fitness. In nations such as the USA, people below the age of 12 prefer engineered junk food, containing refined ingredients mixed with additives, to nutritious homemade food besides spending their maximum time in front of virtual screens that leaves no time for work-out, sleep or relieving stress. Consequently, their bodies fail to burn the excessive calories, thus, making them fat. Post gaining weight through the aforementioned harmful practices, these children ’s efficiency is declining. Since carrying more weight than others decreases one’s stamina and makes one prone to diseases, such as obesity and diabetes, these children are facing difficulty in performing at par with their competitors, which is diminishing their chances of being successful later in life. Even in Takeshi Castle, a reality show, overweight people were found to be less competent in performing several tasks in comparison to the slim participants. Contrarily, following healthy habits can assist in ameliorating the situation. It is the parents or educational institution, which can make children consume vegetables and fruits in a considerable amount along with sending them to playgrounds instead of equipping them with gadgets. Resultantly, neither will the children having excessive calories nor a poor digestive system, due to which the excessive fat will not accumulate. In conclusion, in relation to the concern of western societies’ progenies having more weight than the ideal range, this essay has covered three key aspects: its reason, which is their destructive style of living life; its consequence, which is reduced productiveness; and the required modifications in routine as a solution.