Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that all children should stay at school until the age of 18. Although staying at school until adulthood can produce a number benefits, I personally disagree with this idea for a number of reasons, which will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, the idea that children should continue to study at school until the age of 18 does have a number of benefits. Firstly, most young people under the age of 18 have very little real-world experience and have very little idea of what career they will pursue, and therefore staying at school until the age of 18 will allow them further opportunity to develop their education and time to decide upon a suitable career path. Furthermore, forcing children to stay at school until 18 will create a more educated future generation of people, which may help to reduce some social and unemployment problems. On the other hand, there are also a number of drawbacks that this idea may bring with it. For instance, many children these days do not fit-in with the current education system and forcing them to participate in school can cause many problems. For example, these kinds of students are usually very disruptive in a classroom and this affects other students who are trying to learn. In addition to this, many children choose to follow careers that do not require them to continue studying in school past the age of 16. For example, for those who wish to pursue a career that requires more practical based learning, such as a qualified builder, electrician or machinery operator, it is quite unnecessary to remain at school until the age of 18. In conclusion, although there would be a number of positive effects from children remaining at school until a later age, I personally feel that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits mentioned above.