Some people believe that internet has brought people closer while others believe that people and communities became more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advancements in technology has digitally brought us quite close. Especially, the world of social media has virtually minimised the distance between people. However, some argue that the communities are now more secluded than ever. This essay is going to discuss both views and express why the internet is quite successful in bringing people more closer. The period before the internet, seems just like living in old age. The only way of being with each other was actually travelling the distance and going to meet the other person. Whereas, the digital world does not require you to physically go somewhere to meet your loved ones. In just a couple of minutes, one can digitally travel across the world and see their relatives by just touching their screens. Before the digital world, even calling with the normal telephone was hideously expensive, almost making it impossible for some of the people to just hear the voice of the loved ones. Digitally we may have been the closest we have ever been but at the cost of what? Due to the internet, people have let go of meeting each other at all. Everything can be done through the internet making it more feasible for people to just be virtually present for each other. Social interaction has been greatly reduced leaving the communities in seclusion. For instance, even when it comes to work people do their meetings via the internet, which furhermore reduces the chance of physically meeting each other. Therefore, it is not wrong to believe that people have been driven into isolation due to the digital media. To conclude, the reason of people and communities being in isolation is a doing of their own. Whether you want to physically meet is a personal choice. One can always put in the effort to actually be there for the loved ones. Whereas, digital media have provided a platform to people who are continents apart to be there for the families when required. It is safe to say that owing to the internet, people are now much closer to each other.