Human activity has had a negative effect on ecosystems, animals and plants across the world. Some people believe this cannot be changed while others feel that we can still take action to protect living things and the environment. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Human beings have had a damaging impact on the environment and all living things on our planet. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of public opinion to helping or not helping protect the environment further. Firstly, I will discuss why people feel they can no longer help living things and their local environment, and secondly, I will explore what action people are taking to benefit the natural world. Many people feel that they can no longer help the environment due to rapidly developing economies. Many of these countries that are becoming industrialised rely on factories to produce and create goods. For example, some Asian countries produce many goods for the west, which in turn creates pollution but also jobs for poorer people. Another reason people feel helpless to help the earth is due to rising population levels. It is difficult to say whether we can sustain such huge numbers of inhabitants on our planet. It takes a lot of energy to produce food, and it may be that we are already too high populated to feed everyone. On the other hand, there are many people who feel we can still help our environment by using technology such as solar power. Solar power is a renewable energy that has no negative effect on the natural world. For example, if we could use more renewable energies, we could provide power and electricity for more people without hurting the environment. Many countries are also now banning the use of plastic bags, such as India. Consequently, India’s cities and local wildlife have become healthier and cleaner. It is clear to see that we are facing many challenges in protecting the environment in our modern world. In my opinion, I feel very strongly about ensuring the safety and wellbeing of our planet, and feel that governments worldwide should make this their top priority