Prevention is better than cure. Out of country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is rightly said, that health is wealth. Any country can develop only when people of that nation are healthy and fit. I completely agree that health needs a great attention and therefore, large portion of health funds should be used to create awareness among people. However, it is equally crucial to allocate substantial budget for treating disease by investing in research on medicines and other health related expenses. Therefore, both the things need to go hand in hand. Undoubtedly, it is high time for humans to realise that nothing is beyond their health. As population and pollution are rising, simultaneously, various non-curable and other diseases are also on their peak. To deal with this situation, the best way is to spread awareness among people and teaching the importance of having a healthy lifestyle. This will not only save their lives rather it is crucial for nation’s growth as well. For instance, as a result of fast-paced hectic lifestyle about 60% of the population are suffering with cardiovascular diseases and diabetes and to solve this issue various free gym training apps and yoga camps could be launched which can entice people to engage in various physical activities. On the other hand, allocating a whole lot of health budget on awareness and preventive measures is not sufficient rather equal attention is necessary for treating the ill patients as well. Funds should be invested in research programmes and laboratories as a nation should be well prepared to face any worst situation. Moreover, hospitals and health care accommodations need to be there in proportion of country’s population which can fulfil the requirement. For instance, many countries faced huge crises of hospitals, doctors, nurses and other medical facilities at time when COVID was at rise. Hence, to deal with such situations a nation should be well prepared with medical equipment and other services. To conclude, educating people and spending more than half proportion of health funds on taking preventive measures and creating awareness is enough. Rather, equal attention needs to be given on treatments as well. Therefore, allocating funds wisely on improving health of people is crucial by taking both the things together.