Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, it is irrefutable that agriculture is the backbone of each country. A large section of the society argue that nations should focus on producing food for their populations and try to import very little, and only if it quite essential. I strongly agree with the aforementioned notion and the upcomming paragraphs will shed light on this in details. To commence with, one of the pivotal reasons to generate all edibles needed for all citizens is economical stability of that country. If a nation produce all eatables by own, It will not depend on other nations to purchase that would result in prosperity of that country. For instance, a recent survey conducted by BBC News has revealed that China became the second prosperous economy in the world due to ability of producing the grains for whole nation. Moreover, when countries imports food from other nations, they become dependent and sometimes suffer in case of shortage of the supplies. Therefore, It is candid that a self-sufficiency of food item production for all inhabitants stabilizes that country economically. The other prime reason for supporting this idea is the quality of food. In other words, native foods are generally fresh and of high quality. Moreover, being produced locally, food items do not need any chemical to preserve it for a longer period. For example, the food items which are imported to other states are mixed with some sort of chemicals to preserve it for a couple of days. Thus, the edibles cultivated locally are of high quality. In conclusion, this essay discussed that the quality of food which are produced locally is high and brings economical statbility as well. I believe that every nation should cultivate food for their population and try to avoid importing edibles as much as possible.