Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Some people believe that it is beneficial when grandparents reside with their extended families and spend time with their children and grandchildren. However, others argue that a separate life is more positive for them. There are arguments on both sides of the very typical debate, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, those who support the idea of grandparents ought to live with their extended families point to the fact that the emotional support is essential in certain cases. Elderly people desire to spend the rest of their life for gathering with sons, daughters and grandchildren as well as reuniting also brings them happiness. In addition, the medical problems of grandparents are able to occur every time, for this reason, the supervise of their children by their side can offer protection against such challenges as robbery or accident. It seems that their children are the most valuable medicine when they get older. On the other hand, supporters of elderly generation is encouraged to dwell independently often state that grandparents opt for living their own because of the fact that they are able to enhance their self-esteem. Furthermore, elderly people believe that whenever they need assistance or get an illness, their children are always at their back to help out. Finally, they still possess a positive social network of their life such as dancing, travelling or growing plants as well as take care of their garden. To sum up, it appears to me that it does not matter who they are living with as long as they can have a whale of a time in the rest of their lives.