Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, there has been a growing debate surrounding whether students should branch out and study additional fields or only focus on their compulsory subjects. While there are many people who believe that diligently pursuing only the majors is enough, I am of the belief that, students should be knowledgeable about other important topics as well. Firstly, extracurricular activities can help a person to achieve the necessary soft skills. Although the necessity of mandatory courses is undeniable for honing hard skills, only additional study can help a person achieve their desired interpersonal skills, which are compulsory in this day and age. For instance, if one studies minor topics like money management and social etiquette, they can be well suited to handle most social gatherings and fund crisis situations. Secondly, by branching off to other areas, one might find a subject that they love more than their major. As a result, new alternative paths are opened for the person. Conversely, studying the majors with a focus can help learners to achieve a level of greatness in their field, which would be difficult otherwise. If a student who is talented in their major puts all their focus on their main topic, they might surpass all other students in that aspect. This is true because the individual has more time to delve deeply into every chapter of that particular subject. Thus, by only focusing on their major, their technical skills become far superior to those of others. While I admit that, honing majors is important, without skills in other areas, one might not be able to achieve the goals they desire.