Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As society develops, an increasing number of people believe that mastering a foreign language is significant. Some of them spend much time learning a foreign language just for travelling and working, while others insist that this will provide them with more benefits other than those. It is true that a good foreign language skill can be really helpful for career prospects and travels to other countries. Firstly, learning a new language for the purpose of working in other countries seems to become more and more popular because many adults and graduates are trying to pursue their happiness far from their homes and motherlands. To adapt oncoming overseas life, they need to learn more about the language of the country they are going to so as to achieve better career advancement. Besides, considering the possibility of having better travel experience, a well foreign language, during a trip abroad, would probably be indispensable to travellers. It can not only help them deal with something like applying for visas and asking for direction but also develop their social networks. However, the purpose of learning a new foreign language should not be confined to travelling or working in a foreign country. The fundamental reason is that it would probably help learners broaden their minds. Being multilingual, they can be allowed to get a deep understanding of ideology about culture from different nations and local ancestors’ way of thinking and acting through reading relevant foreign references and chatting with foreign people. This can lead to a profound impact on their development of intellectual skills and practical skills in the future. To summarize, I believe that learning a different language should be not for satisfying our physical needs, like money, but also our moral needs because never before had such a big thirst for knowledge been displayed.