More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that technologies have profoundly changed our life, either personal or professional. More and more organizations have permitted their staffs to work remotely instead of attending the office daily. This trend reveals its own benefits, but also some drawbacks. Both have to be considered and discussed in order to adequately address this current issue, which have intensified since the beginning of the COVID-19 Pandemic. Regarding the upsides, first there is the possibility of avoiding wast time at traffic congestions during the commuting hours. One possible outcome is that we will have more available moments to spend with our family or even to dedicate to our health, preparing better meals and doing in a more consisent way physical exercise. The second is the increasing of productivity caused by the improvement of the happiness levels. To illustrate these two affirmations, I would like to give a personal example. Since 2018, I have worked from home. Being closed to my husband, including here the opportunity of living abroad, having flexibility and so that being able to organize my own schedule have all impacted positively in my performance, according to my manager´s feedback. Nevertheless, this policy has some negative effects as well. One of them can be the expressed by the difficulty to communicate with other colleagues. Since the beginning of the pandemic, many have started this modality of work for the first time. Some employees have complained that they spend much more time now than ever in endless meeting. The second downside can be related to our mental health. More and more people will stay at home alone. This particular problem can be especially difficult for singles and elderlies. Again this one of the serious implications unfolded by the recent lockdowns. Thus, many enterprises have allowed their employees to work from home. Based on our opinion, the plus sides of this trend far surpass its pitfalls. The convenience of having more free time combined to the possibility of using technologies in our favour either to connect to the loved ones, or to boost our health can be, in the end, some strategies to deal with the negative sides.