Some people prefer to help or support directly in the local community for people who need it; however, others prefer to give money to the national or private charities. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

It is a controversial topic about the way of philanthropy, either provide direct support or donate to charities. Personally, I prefer donations rather than direct help in the local community. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and explain my idea with examples. Firstly, promoting local aid can be done by providing personal support on-site. This means that participants who want personally assists have the possibility. For instance, people can distribute food or clothes to the vulnerable, or donate cash to the households in need directly. In addition, direct donation to those in need provides a sense of warmth. However, direct philanthropy is not suitable for someone who has sufficient funds but no extra time for assisting others on-site. On the other hand, national or private charities, such as UNICEF, try to combat global suffering for famine, epidemics, violence against children or women, child labour, environmental protection and animal welfare. I believe that donating money to those institutions can reduce global suffering and help people around the world. Even if many individuals only make a small donation, a lot of earnings can be raised to improve living conditions worldwide. That is to say that many African countries are suffering from stark poverty. People of these countries have no shelter, clothes, food, and even pure drinking water. Therefore, citizens from rich countries donate to the organization in order to calm the unbearable poverty of African nations. In conclusion, help in any approach is praisable, while direct donation may not be able to provide for some people who are busy. Personally, I prefer the donation to charities because it can help with global suffering countries and people.