During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

The youth tend to spend their leisure time on other activities rather than being outdoors. The primary reason why more young people are not spending time outdoors is time management issue as they are concentrated on gaining success. So integrating the outdoors in school curricula can be an option for getting young people outdoors. Between school and part‐ time jobs, spending time outdoors becomes little more than an afterthought in a young person’s daily life. Pressures for success and doing well in school and the increasing load of homework at a young age compete for time outside. That is why lots of college students get focused on school and extra‐circulars that do not support an active and healthy lifestyle. After they finish school, they take a job that requires even more of their time, hence they will not take more than a week out of the year to spend outside. Outdoors should be built into education. Outside exploration and hands‐on experiences could be included as part of the student's curriculum in school. Assemblies, clubs and programs should be organized through schools that give kids the opportunity to learn about outside activities like hiking, mountain biking, rock‐climbing. For instance, students could walk trails during physical education classes or visit wetland areas in a biology course. It can be concluded that one of the significant barriers to outdoors is the high level of being extremely busy among the young people, and one way to overcome that obstacle could be the insertion of outdoor activities into the routine of educational institutes.