Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

To commence with, one of the pivotal reasons for spending most of their time playing computer games is easy access to the internet. In addition, if a child gets the internet to use, he will surely play online games with his friends. For instance, a survey recently conducted by BBC News has revealed that 80% of the children of England spend more than three hours daily playing computer games in the last decade. Moreover, parents usually provide computers to their children at an early age. Therefore, teenagers do not get time for sports as a lot of their time gets wasted playing games on computers. Furthermore, Although parents are sending their children to prestigious schools, they do not have time to monitor them after school due to their sedentary lifestyle. Also, people are not cooking meals themselves as they are working at late night in the offices, and ordering food online for their kids. For example, many people in England are working late at night and do not have time for their children. Thus, adolescents tend to play games on computers and their parents do not encourage them to go out for sports which lead to a plethora of health issues. In conclusion, this essay discussed that availability of computers and easy access to the internet are prime reasons for spending a lot of time on computer games by children and they do not get enough time for the outdoor physical activities. I think it's a negative development as it would cause multiple health issues.