Some people say that to overcome traffic problem, underground tunnels should be built. What is your opinion?

Road traffic is one of the major problems in all parts of the world. Hence, the experts are trying to find solutions to overcome this matter. Some suggest that the congestion would be reduced by constructing underground tunnels. In my opinion, the mentioned initiative is definitely capable of resolving the problem, yet, there are certain limitations also in relation to the implementation of such projects that may cause lots of other repercussions. Firstly, constructing a tunnel is a highly capital intense project where most of the developing and underdeveloped countries are not in a position to absorb huge costs. For example, there are few developing nations that have started such initiatives and ultimately trapped with huge debts to other countries. The most recent example is Pakistan. Secondly, such constructions certainly have bad implications for the environment. Environmentalists all over the world are not in favour of such excavations, further, they have highlighted the extent of disaster it could make to nature. For instance, the subway project completed in Mumbai is now creating certain adversities to nature. The people of Mumbai are often suffering from floods even for a mid-level rainfall and scholars have highlighted some valid facts to prove the impact of the subway on the mentioned matter. On the contrary, the underground commutes have given some great results to the developed countries such as Switzerland and Japan. Moreover, a study conducted in Japan indicated that one commute was able to deliver a time saving of 60% than the previous travel time. In conclusion, there is no doubt about the capability of tunnel systems towards reducing road congestion. However, there are factors that suggest that such projects are not feasible for the greater majority of the nations in the world that belong to the developing or underdeveloped categories.