Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Several individuals contend that social media applications particularly facebook and twitter have been adversely impacting people, not only at their personal levels but also putting overall society into turmoil for the last few decades. I think that there are certian pros and cons of this development, but the gains of online social networks are far more than minuses. To begin with, there are a few harmful impacts on individuals and society. People waste an abundant amount of time on social networking websites, resultantly they don't have enough time for their loved ones, social and professional duties. For instance, if a person prefers to spend his/her free time on social media rather than spending with his/her family members, then his/her relationships would deteriorate with near ones. Furthermore, social media applications are a huge breach in the privacy of people, and few criminals use the private information of people for their malacious purposes, like blackmailing, and monemtary frauds. On the contrary, there are enormous benefits of socializing through social media. First and foremost, it is one of the cheapest and convenient way of communication because of the world-wide availability of ultrafast internet. Secondly, interaction among the people of diverse cultural and ethnic backgrounds via social media has brought harmony in the world. Last but not the least, it a very good plateform of the advertisement, especially for small businesses who do not afford expensive promotions on the electronic and print media. In conclusion, there are a few harmful effects of social media like time wastage and privacy issues, whereas its advantages including global access for socializing and trade have surpassed the disadvantages.