Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, having a house is extremely essential for everyone. Some groups of people believe that homes should be constructed in the same style as older homes in the regional area. Others think that the municipality should give permission to individuals to build their houses according to their choices. I will discuss both views with related examples and also mention my opinion in the following essay. To begin with, several reasons can be put forth to support the first view. First and foremost, older houses were more functional and convenient for people to live in. For example, in the past, one could generate heat in the home by lighting up a fire with wood in the fire pit rather than operating difficult heating machines. Additionally, the style of older homes provides more simplicity and peace. Therefore, a study by the University of Waterloo mentioned that 50% of old age people prefer to live in the older style houses. On the other hand, we cannot ignore that a home which is built by own choice gives more flexibility to humans. The main reason is that nowadays individuals prefer to use more technology in their houses while building. As a consequence, they can enjoy their stay with less physical activities. To illustrate, installing elevators in the multi-story house can reduce human activity instead of climbing stairs. Apart from that, modern houses are more attractive and reliable. To conclude, the same style of older residence has simplicity, convenience and satisfaction of living. However, those residences which are built by choice have more smart work and are appropriate according to today’s era. According to my opinion, both views have their own merits and specialities.