Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The way of punishing criminals is written in the laws and regulations to warn citizens what should not be done. Some people believe that these rules should be applied to everyone fixedly, while others argue that the condition and motivation of criminals should be considered before judging them. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and then I will give my perspective. Fixed punishments are helpful to regulate the behaviours of individuals. As they know the consequences of doing criminal acts clearly, citizens will manage their manners properly following the rule. It is manifest that the punishment can also improve the stability, security and harmony of the community by limiting offences. The specific punishment of different criminal acts results in a decreasing number of those activities. By contrast, the implementation of laws should be varied according to different circumstances. That’s why there usually are ranges of penalty for individual crimes in the laws and regulations, such as penalties ranging from $500 to $2000. First -time offenders, for instance, may get a lighter penalty than repeat criminals. In addition, those who break the law for self-defence should not be punished less severely because the crime happens unpredictably and indeliberately. Moreover, principle criminals should receive heavier punishments than accessory criminals to alarm individuals not to encourage others to violate the law. In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument have their merits. However, if I had to pick one, I think the condition and the incentive of offenders should be taken into account in each judgement, and fixed punishments are not the most justice and impartial way.