One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Increased life span is one of the results of an improved medical care system. It allows people to live longer than ever before. I think that the pros of this development outweigh the cons and I am going to explain why. On the one hand, prolonged life expectancy may lead to overpopulation in many countries around the world. Furthermore, it may result in increasing consumption of resources and might accelerate the rate of global pollution. In other words, many serious issues can become even worse. However, I believe that the progress in science and other technological areas will help in avoiding those problems and people will not have to worry about overpopulation and its consequences. For instance, technologies and control from the government in China proved that the problem with a dense population is not insurmountable. On the other hand, if a person lives longer he or she may spend more time with the loved ones. This is likely to increase the quality of life. Also, people will have an opportunity to share more positive and light moments with others. With increased life expectancy, scientists and inventors will be able to leave a bigger legacy to newer generations. For example, if Nikola Tesla had lived longer he would have invented even more gadgets and tools that could have changed many lives. In conclusion, I personally think that increasing life expectancy has more advantages than disadvantages as people's lives will be filled with more positive moments and there will be more inventions.