Some people think that english will be the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays with the dawn of globalization and tourism, there is a need for a common language to avoid misunderstanding people and communicating with them more effectively. As of 2019, the English language is the most spoken language in the world and is taught to millions of children across the world in an attempt to create a unified language that brings the world together. Nonetheless, I believe having a single vernacular as the standard has its disadvantages. For instance, a single language can be a reason for the lack of tourism, hurting the country's economy. Having a single language has its own drawbacks. The main disadvantage would be the lack of tourism. For example, there would be relatively less reason for an individual to travel to a country if he or she knows that the residence of the nation speak the same language and share the same ideas. The presence of a single language will reduce the heritage of the country as well. To summarise, having a single language will prove fatal to the travel industry of a country especially if it is a touristry-driven one. However, having a single language has its advantages. Not only does having a single dialect allows individuals to communicate more efficiently but also help in mitigating misunderstandings. A study conducted by the University of Cambridge has stated that English is the second easiest language to learn and communicate in stating that more than 78% of people found it easy to learn the dialect. Besides, the existence of a unified language can make sharing of ideas and information easier for everyone allowing our civilization to advance rapidly. In short, learning a single dialect like English will help many avoid misunderstandings and could potentially end up saving them money too. In conclusion, the presence of a single language can help the world maintain peace and friendly nations with countries though, the disadvantages of this system outweigh the advantages.