It is important for children to learn the difference between right or wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. Agree or Disagree?

Society is existing based on certain rules and regulations from the beginning of humanity.Understanding these laws is very important for humans to live a healthy social life.Family is the smallest unit of this society. Hence,children of this generation must know about the set standards of a community from their parents at an early age.Some argue that punishment for mistakes will help them to understand the difference between right and wrong.I can only partially agree with this point. This essay will discuss the reasons for my agreement and disagreement with the aforementioned statement. To begin with,abuse of minors is accepted as it will act as a negative reinforcement for their mistake.It has the ability to make the younger generation remember why they should not commit the same action in future. In addition, these disciplinary measures will also help them to avoid similar mistakes. For instance,according to few researchers, teenagers who received penalties for their bad behaviour in past improved dramatically in their social coping skills like respecting elders,maintaining discipline in groups and even in personal development than a juvenile who never punished by their guardians.In that,way verbal or physical actions against bad behaviour may help to build a responsible citizen for tomorrow. On the other hand,extensive retribution for simple errors could act as a reason for the rebellious actions of the youngster.Childhood misbehaviours are not only habitual but also acceptable.Some parents tend to react very strongly to small mistakes of their offsprings. However, this trend is very disappointing. For example, social scientists and psychologists believe that grave punishment or physical abuses are very harmful to the mental development of school-going children.So many governments passed laws against child punishments. In conclusion, practising social norms are very essential for building a great culture. Thus,all parents train their younger ones how to differentiate right from wrong.Needless to say, many parents consider retribution as the best way to discipline them.But severe punishments may act bad for their growth and development.