Some people think that it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe that it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Choosing friends to play with have become a controversial topic in recent years. Although it is necessary to have like-minded friends, my essay would argue that having friends with different opinions will contribute to a person’s emotional growth. On the one hand, it is important to have friends that share the same ideas. In fact, people who have the same interest and hobby become friends easier. These groups of friends usually have a deeper level of connection than groups of friends with different opinions. The biggest advantage of friends with same opinions is the fact that they argue less than other group of friends. Thus, these friends have a peaceful relationship which is much needed for everyone. However, it is harder for a friend to point out any mistakes one person make if they have the same opinions, which is not good in the long run. On the other hand, having friends with different opinions is more crucial than having like-minded friends for some following reasons. Firstly, friends who think independently are more likely to think out of the box. This could help to solve many tasks in their life that requires creativity. Secondly, different ideas from friends builds people’s ability to convince somebody else. To illustrate this, when a group of friends plan for a trip, different ideas from each person will help them choose the best place to go. In order for other people in the group to choose the best destination, they have to do some research and collect data to convince other friends. Finally, friends with different ideas are more mature because they are exposed to different opinions on a daily basis. As a result, they learn how to respect other people’s opinions outside their group when there are any differences. In conclusion, although having like-minded friends brings certain benefits, I believe that people should choose friends that have different opinions.