Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Restoring and maintaining dated buildings in major cities often takes considerable governmental funding. Some people oppose this and favour using tax money to construct more houses and road infrastructure. I generally agree with this idea because a society ought to provide its citizens with the basic need of housing, yet in cases of historic and iconic buildings, exceptions should be granted. In big cities, tax money should be allocated to provide adequate housing and construct more roads to accommodate the increasing population. More and more people from economically deprived regions have been migrating to metropolitan areas in search of work. This has caused the population density in certain cities to rise remarkably, bringing in its wake negative outcomes such as traffic congestion and crowded living quarters. Using tax money to build more houses, therefore, provides people with affordable shelters that low-income people could purchase. In addition, constructing more roads means smoother traffic which enables the economy to grow effectively. On the other hand, there are buildings that are worth restoring because of their historical or symbolic significance. These buildings are the source of inspiration for arts and sometimes income for the local people, and they are of great interest to historians, archaeologists and architects for their academic values. Structures within the Imperial City of Hue are the prime example of such buildings. The Imperial City of Hue has been the subject of countless works of arts and literature, and as a tourist attraction, it has also been beneficial to the local business. Academically, it offers a glimpse into how life was in ancient Vietnam. In conclusion, I agree that constructing more houses and roads is important and should generally be prioritized over maintaining old buildings with the exception of historically significant constructions. I believe this should be the approach for most cities.