It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society

In the era of everything have become more competitive, education has also become more challenging over the past few decades. Because of this reason, experts in the education sector have highlighted that there is a decreasing trend in relation to pupils selecting science curriculum. The essay focuses on discussing the possible causes of this problem and its impact on society. To begin with, a major reason for the said trend is the difficulty of the science subjects, this very own reason indicated low pass ratios compared to other streams such as arts and commerce. In addition, there are limited opportunities to continue higher studies in Sri Lanka for the students who have managed to pass the exams, yet, the Z-scores are not sufficient to apply for a local university. Unlike the science stream, there are plenty of private degrees available for the students who follow technology or commerce subjects. Simultaneously, there is a scarcity in relation to the job openings for the followers of the science curriculum who have unable to accomplish the desired Z-score required to enrol for a government university. However, this is an issue where government should pay attention to resolve considering the potential repercussions. Firstly, the low enthusiasm in the science stream could make a scarcity of scientists in the future. Secondly, the non-availability of suitable higher education opportunities even in the private sector will encourage pupils to pursue degree programs out of the country which would have several repercussions. In conclusion, it is important to encourage youth to pursue science subjects. However national level initiative should be implemented to identify the root causes of the concern and to offer feasible solutions.