SOME PEOPLE CLAIM THAT MEDIA HAS A NEGATIVE INFLUENCE ON CONTEMPORARY SOCIETY. THEY THINK THAT THERE IS VERY LITTLE TOLERANCE FOR NEW IDEAS BECAUSE OF ITS IMPACT. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THIS OPINION ?

There is a common belief that the media has affected society in a negative way and make our once diverse too uniform. However, I support the idea that culture is becoming more variable than ever before due to some positive influences of social networking sites. Moreover, it has broaden people’s general outlook on life and made our world more magnificent. To begin with, mass media promotes potential thinkings which are extremely distinct. In the past, we didn’t have a chance to explore deeply about other cultures, traditions and religions whereas the advent of various types of media nowadays enable us to set foot on knowledges belonging to almost every fields. For instance, people watch a number of movies and documentaries that depict ways of life in different countries. Instead of leading to a simplification of cultures, this creates a more accepting towards the prejudices and values of people from other backgrounds. Furthermore, it stimulates people to cross the line to a more open-minded society. On top of that, media content makes diverse cultures more significant by helping to maintain and develop trends in society. It acts as versatile devices that allow art and unicity to come together to be more innovative and timely. By way of example, take Vietnamese fashion. After approaching lots of European culture appeared on internet platforms, young generation tends to merge their fashions with those popular in Europe. As a result, a new type of clothing style combined elements from both regions was born such as students wearing aodai to school like putting on sporty shoes instead of traditional ones. To sum up, the media has been playing a viral role in our society and obviously transforming it into a fascinating place. For these reasons, the media ’s merits seem to outweight the drawbacks.