In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages.

It is popular these days for consumers to buy food from all around the world, not limited to the physical border of their home country. I believe this trend may present some difficulties, but the advantages are much more significant. It is undeniable that people have some concerns about buying food imported from different countries. One of these issues is possible health impacts of preservatives, which are chemicals used to protect foods over an extended period. However, any problems potentially arising from this must be because the government has failed to strictly regulate food quality and ensure the safety standards are respected. By no means is this an unavoidable risk when it comes to purchasing imported food. Another problem relates to the environment – as these goods must be shipped from abroad, their carbon footprint increases as a result. This may indeed worsen the current rate of climate change, but it is a matter of fact that an ocean-going vessel may transport hundreds of containers at a time, so the impacts of transporting food in particular would be minimal and negligible. However, the benefits of this trend are significant. Thanks to this, today one can easily enjoy meat or fruits from other continents, something once considered extravagant only a few decades ago, and this widens the choices available to the average family. Another benefit is that, from a global perspective, it boosts the agriculture globally due to the international market, and may lead to the point where each country can specialize in the particular types of food that are best suited to their environment and soil. The government, in turn, can also help mitigate the wealth gap between different social groups by imposing taxes on imported foods, especially those considered luxuries. These taxes can be reinvested in local farmers, who are usually severely financially disadvantaged compared to rich consumers, to increase their productivity and living standards. In conclusion, the only issue remaining is concerns about the environment, but the trend of importing food only creates a relatively small amount of carbon dioxide compared to other sectors. In contrast, the advantages far outweigh any drawbacks, relating to the broadened choice of food for each individual, the benefits to the agricultural industry and mitigated income gaps.