Some people think parents should supervise their children's activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to parents supervision of their children. While it is widely believed that parents should take control of their children closely, others believe parents should give more freedom to their children. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, we should keep the balance between the two notions. (không sai, nhưng chung chung vậy thì điểm thấp) On the one hand, it is argued that parents supervision of their young is important and necessary. The main reason is that kids are unable to protect themselves in some likely dangerous situations. It is also possible to say that they are not mature and knowledgeable enough to keep themselves away from dangers that are present everywhere around them. One good illustration of this is that a child may not know a bowl of boiling soup on the table is hot and can cause burning. They possibly put their fingers into the bowl and get a burn. Another reason is nowadays there is an increasing issue of children kidnapping crime. For example, when a child is playing in the park without his parents supervision, some bad people can approach the child and allure him with sweets or something, and then kidnap the child. The criminals do that just because they want to take ransom from the child ’s parents or they may sell the poor child overseas. So if the parents always keep an eye on their children ’s activities, it will be safer for the kids. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that children should have more freedom to do almost whatever they want. People often have this opinion because they think the best way to learn everything is from both bad and good experiences that would help children grow independently and wisely. A second point is that freedom would encourage and enhance a child ’s creativity, problem-solving skills and taking responsibilities. A particularly good example here is a child who is playing with his peers in the playground, and sometimes there is a quarrel with other kids. If the parents do not intervene in the kids ’ business, the child will learn how to communicate, and negotiate to get what he wants. He may be a loser, but at least after that, he can learn to control his bad feelings. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that parents should supervise their children carefully meanwhile others assume that parents should give their children more space to delelop naturally and independently. Personally, I tend to believe that parents need to keep a balance between too much supervision and not to control at all. Let children grow up naturally and learn new things with genuine curiosity about the world and sometimes deal with certain harsh situations. But it does not mean that parents do not accompany their kids in any circumstances, let them alone when they need help. I believe parents would learn how to raise and educate their children through a long challenging and interesting journey to be smart and the best parents.