Mobile phones have brought many benefits, but they have also had negative effects. Do the disadvantages of having mobile phones outweigh the advantages?

Over the last ten or fifteen years, the improvements in telecommunication had certainly change the world and how people connect with each other. Mobile phones have had a massive impact on society with millions of benefits in terms of life quality, access to knowledge and creative tools. However, a few concerns aroused on how users deal with these devices and especially how dependent they had become. To begin with, smartphones had helped immensely in the democratization of information, the main factor in modern societies. Nowadays, is easier than ever to learn how to build a treehouse, bake a wedding cake or make live streaming of social protests and injustices. In addition, phones had helped families to monitor children when they start travelling by themselves in public transport or keeping an eye on the elderly to guarantee they take their medication on time. Surviving the COVID-19 pandemic without this technology in our pockets would have been devastating, as it was the key element to keep life as normal as possible. On the other hand, evidence suggests that some people developed unhealthy habits after the introduction of mobile phones. Many families felt obliged to establish ground rules to limit phone usage during meals or at night, especially with teenagers. Experts agree that there has been a loss in real connection, with online relationships growing faster than ever. In addition, smartphones tend to concentrate hundreds of tools on only one device. Is not only a way of communication, but also a map to see where the shop is, a camera to take photos or even our credit card. Despite it may sound like a huge advantage, just the idea of being stolen or even lose the phone somewhere generates panic in the users, leading to obsessive behaviour towards their devices. In conclusion, despite there might be a few drawbacks in how the society use their mobiles, I strongly believe they have had a great and positive impact on our lives.