Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic.

There is an increasing trend for travellers to explore remote and hard-to-access places, like the Sahara desert or the South Pole of the Earth, of late. This essay will expound on the positive and negative aspects of this phenomenon and then will draw a conclusion. There are many advantages to visiting places with extreme ambience. First and foremost, a trip to the place with difficult conditions is quite an adventure for the tourists. For example, the South Pole sky is the ultimate degree of expedition according to many daredevils. In addition to this, tourists can get a glimpse into the wildlife that no aquarium or zoo can ever really replicate. For example, Antarctica is the paradise of the world’s most rare species such as Weddell seal, emperor penguin, albatross, petrel, to mention but a few. Besides, adventurers can take stunning photographs of breathtaking landscapes. A case in point is the Sahara Desert. From beautiful oasis to brilliant white colours of the stones are best seen in the sweet light of the morning and dusk hours when surreal images can be taken. Finally, such extreme tourism boosts travellers’ confidence. However, expeditions also bring about damage to the places. It has a devastating impact on breeding animals. That is to say that animals are made anxious by an influx of tourists that may cause them to vacate a habitat all together if frequently disturbed. For instance, there is myriad evidence of birds that previously nested near the Antarctic bases abandoned due to the constant human activity around the area. Likewise, the growing number of tourists causes the depletion of local natural resources, pollution, and waste issue as well. Finally, this extreme tourism claims the lives of many travellers and often brings unfathomable devastations to travellers. In conclusion, although tourism in places with dire conditions reaps many benefits, the negative impacts of visitors should not be overlooked as well. Therefore, governments should make every effort to sustain the environment as well as encourage eco-tourism to save the environment and lives.