A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the popularity of social media and the flaunt wealth effect of various celebrities,a person’s worth nowadays seems to have judged according to social status and material possessions. This phenomenon often makes people feel old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. I partly agree with this view.In this essay, I will explain my thoughts and reasons. The first thing we could accept is that most people make achievements in working through their own talent and efforts, make a successful business,offer other people jobs, and obtain social status and better material life that they deserve.So judges a person's value by his social status and material possessions is reasonable. For example, many successful cases, such as Bill Gates' Microsoft computer operating system, Elon Musk's new energy Tesla cars and Jack Ma's Alibaba mobile payment system, have changed people and society and their founders should be confirmed by the public. However, there are more criteria and references to evaluate a person's value, if we check the actual social life surrounding us, there are still many people doing ordinary jobs. On their duty conscientiously and silently contributing their value to the society. In school, teachers patiently teach students knowledge and cultivate the future power for society. Scientists focus on numerous researches to provide new technologies for the development of society. Doctors and nurses help and save people ’s life. People don't know all their names, they don't go around flaunting their social status and material possessions, but most of them have old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust to perform their work with the best. In conclusion, I consider the development of the society cannot be separated from the efforts of everyone, no matter successful or not, we should adhere to these good qualities, do our own work seriously, and contribute our value to the society. Regardless of social status and material wealth, each of us should strive to be an indispensable member of society.