Animal species are becoming extinct as a result of human activities on land and in sea. Why has this happened? What is the solution?

A significant number of animal species are becoming extinct as a consequence of human-related activities on land and sea. I will explain some of the reasons why this has happened and some solutions. First of all, the animal ecosystem has been severely affected by human activity causing catastrophic consequences. Contamination of the land and oceans has gotten out of control in the past decades, nowadays large companies dump everything on the sea causing severe changes on the life of fishes and plants promoting extinction of species with no ways of adapting, for example, a few years ago there was a large oil leak from a boat that killed the algae in the Pacific ocean, affecting the lives of thousands of species. In addition, the large and rapid expansion of the population has moved animals from their natural habitat causing some species that had been living in the same place for centuries to move away to a controlled environment in which some of them can not adapt and reproduce. In Brasil we have a rainforest that every month losses 1 kilometre, just imagine what is happening with all those animals being taken out from their homes. To conclude, humans have caused major damage to land and sea as a consequence of rapid population expansion and contamination. Is the government responsibility to protect these places by punishing those who abuse them, moreover people should also understand that by not protecting these species we are causing damage to our ecosystem that could be irreparable.