Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

Family businesses are quite popular in many countries. While some people believe that they have manifold benefits, others are convinced that family-run business owners will have issues in the future. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the pros and cons of this trend and present my view. First of all, family-run businesses bring profit to all family members involved in the process. More specifically, family members will never have problems with the employment, there will be some job even for younger and less experienced ones. Secondly, all the employees will trust and support each other. For instance, employees in big companies usually leave their positions and start looking for new jobs once the business faces any issues. However, in family-run enterprises, everyone will stay together going through ups and downs. Last but not least, employees will need a short learning curve to start working, since they have been growing up in the business environment. To illustrate, if parents of a boy have a shop, they constantly ask him to do some jobs like cleaning, organizing goods, staying inside the shop while parents are out, and etc. Consequently, the boy will be familiar with the business from an early age. Alternatively, a family member may not be interested in the business, perhaps because he or she has natural abilities to something else like music, or sports. Obviously, if parents force their children to get involved in the business, the individual may become apathetic and depressed. Additionally, generally, family-run businesses cannot scale, this happens because of a lack of relevant education and biases towards promoting members ahead of non-relative staff. To sum up, well-structured family businesses have all the chances to survive and flourish. However, this requires knowledge improvement in business -related areas.