SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT HAVING A SET RETIREMENT AGE (Example 65 YEARS) FOR EVERYBODY, REGARDLESS OF OCCUPATION, IS UNFAIR. THEY BELIEVE THAT A CERTAIN WORKERS DESERVE TO RETIRE AND RECEIVE A PENSION AT AN EARLIER AGE. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE? WHICH TYPE OF WORKERS DO YOU THINK SHOULD BENEFIT FROM EARLY RETIREMENT?

In Sri Lanka, the normal retirement age is 55 years in general for all professions. Some argue that this is unfair to certain professions and they should be given an early retirement with acceptable compensation. In my opinion, there is a greater validity for this notion when it comes to certain occupations. To begin with, there are some occupations that involve a higher level of occupational hazards such as exposure to toxic substances, exposure to environments that are dangerous to work. For example, an individual who is working in cement production is exposing to poisonous dust for a long time which has a potential risk to end up as a cancer patient. In addition, an employee who is working with heavy machinery would vulnerable to face occupational damages at any time. Secondly, there are certain jobs that are ideal to perform by younger persons considering the factors such as physical abilities for the betterment in general. For instance, a younger person would become a better driver than a person who is relatively older. Offering an early retirement alone will not solve the matter, an acceptable pension is a must for these employees to spend their life ahead. Although they are capable of doing another job, it is doubtful that one would get another job which he/them can continue considering the skill gap. For example, a person who has worked in a factory may not be capable of doing a desk job. In conclusion, it is evident that the pension age should be vary based on the job type and extent it's been exposed to hazards. Hence, there is a collective responsibility to the government and the employers to look after these employees by giving a fair amount of compensation once they retire.