Nowadays online shopping is rapidly replacing physical shopping in stores. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, in your view?

Shopping online through the internet is relatively increasing in current times and substituting the traditional way of in-person shopping at malls. While there are minimal demerits in the form of commodity mismatch or not meeting the quality standards at times, the benefits of this phenomenon outweigh the drawbacks because of increased convenience, cost-effectiveness to both customers and businesses. There are two important demerits of online purchase but ignorable. The primary one being, sometimes it is observed that wrong products are being delivered at doorstep due to logistics issues. Recent order placed by us for a flexible table for my child homework, for instance, has surprised us with a shocking irrelevant empty honey bottle. Adding to this, customers have to compromise with non-standard quality products keeping challenges of return or replacement policies in mind. It takes around 7 to 10 business days, for example, to return an item and expect a refund for the money paid. The internet revolution has brought greater advantages to consumer and businesses. Complete eradication of travel to the physical shopping malls has saved stupendous costs to the purchaser. A typical family, for instance, can save approximately 2000 rupees on each online shopping as it completely avoids travel cost and unnecessary disposal item purchases. On the other hand, it also saves the shopping mall establishment costs to businesses as the items can be directly transferred from the warehouses. Giant E-Commerce companies across the globe, for example, Flipkart, Amazon are not maintaining any physical stores other than warehouses. To conclude, the internet-enabled procurement of goods has been increasing rapidly and eventually replacing physical stores. There are some ignorable demerits to these changes like product quality compromises, wrong product deliveries at times. However, the merits of this phenomenon like increased convenience, huge savings to customers outweigh the drawbacks.