Traditional ideas from older people about the way to live and behave are not helpful to young people and their futures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the older generation is not capable of providing meaningful and helpful pieces of advice for younger generations because of substantial changes carrying out in modern society. I am inclined to agree with this statement completely and I believe social values, norms as well as a usual way of living have changed so drastically that traditional concepts about how to live and behave are impractical and obsolete. First of all, the invention of the Internet and computers had an enormous impact on the way people communicate which has changed dramatically since the beginning of the twentieth century. As a result, the majority of communication is carried out via text messengers where the volume, the velocity of information as well as the rules of communication have changed noticeably. Considering that, there are only a few beneficial ideas about how to behave and socialize that older people could share with due to lack of experience because of the novelty of these means of communication. Secondly, there is a substantial shift in values and ideals of current generations which makes them more different from their grandparents and even parents. For instance, sociologists have witnessed that the values of younger generations have become inclined to more self-realization and individualism compared to their parents. Subsequently, the perceptions and viewpoints of older people are not only helpful for younger ones but also they are ideologically different and sometimes even incompatible. Finally, work and study have experienced significant changes either and older people are more difficult to orient in so fast-moving world that they cannot provide youngsters with a relevant piece of advice. For example, if technical implied part of the job and study determined a success then now social and ethical sides are also taken into serious considerations. If hard studying and long hours of work subsequently led to success, then today the world has become more difficult and determinants of success tripled. In conclusion, older generations have great knowledge and could provide younger ones with insights from their experience, but today's world has changed so significantly that traditional ideas from older people could be interesting and insightful, but could not be practical and helpful in the way how to behave and live in the modern society.