Many people think that to become a successful specialist it's better to choose a career early in life and never change it later. To what extent do you agree with this view? Support your opinion with relevant examples.

Which stream to choose is the main question parents and students are pondering upon after finishing their class 12th. A lot of people argue that perhaps knowing student's inclination early in their life and selecting a career based on that is a wise choice, to utilize the additional duration to their advantage. However, I think selecting it when they are about to become an adult is a wise thing to do rather than going for it well ahead, in my opinion. In this essay, I will explain my position with some examples. Firstly, since choices may evolve and change over time, interest in one area might change over the period of time and hence choosing a direction early in life may turn into a bad decision. Also, many subjects are not known in depth halfway during education, although inclination can be clearly read. Hence, making an informed decision is very much necessary and for that,giving enough opportunity to get to a point where the variety of subjects are well known to the students is absolutely essential. For instance, by the age student comes to class 12, he gets an idea about differences in arts and science streams, etc. which he can then through based on his/her interest, earning potentials, etc. On the contrary, having knowledge of the other areas, other than the area of specialization, can prove to be handy as it can be used outside of the profession i.e. in day-to-day living. Hence, it can prove disadvantageous to master one subject and be ignorant of other topics. Like, having a knowledge of accounting and taxation helps everyone managing their own finances and tax filing each year, even if you are having a career in arts. Similarly, science professionals can use knowledge of art, for,example music, to relax after finishing their hectic day at work. In conclusion, rushing to decide on one's future path may backfire and can leave a person with no options to return back. Job dissatisfaction may result because of this. Also, they might struggle to cope up with the other parts of living and hence it is not advisable to go for it much early in the game. The current education system must have thought about all this and hence decision-making situation is kept right at the point when a student is on the verge of becoming an adult.