Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It is said that people nowadays spend more time working rather than joining leisure activities. From my perspective, there are more drawbacks derived from this phenomenon than its benefits. On the one hand, there are certain merits when people spend hours at work. Firstly, people choose to work more hours to earn more money to cover their basic needs such as rent, food, transportation, and phone bills. To illustrate this, in some of third world countries such as Vietnam, minimum wages cannot guarantee the food and accommodation, so people are forced to work longer hour. Secondly, some people choose to work long hour because they follow materialism. The possession of luxurious cars or houses would be the motivation for them to work harder and longer at their workplace. On the other hand, working long hours also brings a lot of problems to people ’s mental and physical health. In fact, lack of relaxation after work might cause exhaustion to the body. Recent research from Japan shows that people who work overtime are 90 percent more likely to be depressed, given the fact that overworking is the leading cause of many suicides in this country. In addition, the productivity is usually lower at people who choose to work overtime. This is because the human brain cannot concentrate for a long period of time and the body will be exhausted from sitting or standing too long. In conclusion, with effects regarding people ’s mental and physical health from working overtime, I believe that this phenomenon has more disadvantages than benefits.