Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In order to serve a greedy man's needs and owing to technological advancement, we have lost almost all natural resources. Freshwater tops the list as it is naturally not available in most parts of the world. There are numerous reasons resulting in the lack of freshwater. The below paragraphs will list down the causes and some practical ways to overcome them. Firstly, it is alarming to imagine our future with no fresh water to drink. Lakes, waterfalls,rivers and are some of the natural sources of freshwaterwater fresh water water. They flourish when it rains heavily. It naturally rains for 3 months in a year, but due to the pollution in air and water, the weather cycle has changed. Irresponsible citizens throw garbages into rivers and lakes, contaminating the water and thereby making it not available to others. This has now become a serious threat and as a result, the government has put up' Do not throw garbages', ' Keep your city clean' signboards in all picnic spots. Secondly, due to drastic changes in, climate we tend to have long summers and short winter seasons. In spite of saving water in dams and wells to avoid water scarcity, due to extreme weather conditions they all get dried up. The aforementioned causes leading us to be devoid of water can be dwindled by maintaining a healthy environment. Planting trees in abundance decreases air pollution, increases rainfall and regulates the weather cycle. Utilizing a garbage unit system will help towards disposal of waste appropriately and also separate the biodegradable from the non-biodegradable wastes. Everyone getting themselves enrolled into organisations like 'Save the earth',' Go green', will educate them in taking measures to protect the natural resources. To conclude, I believe citizens becoming more responsible and thoughtful of their future will help in creating a bigger impact in saving the water bodies.