Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been a contradication about wether the government should allocate funds for setting up train and underground routes or larger streets in order to reduce traffic congestion. In my opinion, financing metro and subway lines projects would have greater impact in minimizing the the overcrowding traffic because they help the government t save more money and spend it in other projects. Some people would argue that spending public funds on establishing railways would contribute significantly in allowing large numbers of passengers to use it for travelling. This is because it can connect the suberbs and remote areas to the city centre, which it organizes the movement of traffic and helps people to reach their destination faster. Dubai government is a prime example for successfully building new metro lines in every major district area of the city, and it has resulted in facilitating the commuting around the city, particulary during the rush hours. This Investment would lead in enhancing the quality of the air as it has less gas emissions in comparison with other transportion; such as cars and buses. On the other hand, setting up new and broader roads is more important than railways because the majority of the residents have often opted to use their own vehicles whenever they need. This is because the new highways would make it more easier for people to commute from one location to another at any time they want while trains are tied with a fixed schedule forcing passengers to follow it. A typical example of this is that most of employees prefer using the highway when they go to work because it is well-known for getting faster to their destination while if they use subways, they need to move from one station to another in a specfic time order putting them under the pressure of not catching metro in the right time. Hence, by spending money on roads projects would help residents to be on time whenever they need to run some errands. To sum up, although it might seem sensible to consider building railways a better investment for the government because it could contain large crowds of travellers, others deem streets as a better way to help commuters to get on time and have the freedom in driving. Howeve, I would agree with the former view because building subways need less funds, and it could carry a vast numbers of crowds compared to the highways.