Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

Nowadays, human beings have become longevity. However, some people insist that several problems happen since this advanced ageing society. In this essay, I am going to examine two possible problems that occur due to the ageing society which are swelling social welfare costs and shrinking supports for the younger generation. To begin with, the main crisis caused by this is that the government need to use a large amount of money for social welfare. For instance, the budget for pension has been increasing, and the working generation have the burden. In fact, 30 per cent of the Japan's population are the age of 65 and over. As a result of this, two working generations pay for a pension of a single senior in 2020, while 12 supported one in 1960. Furthermore, medical fees and other social welfare expenses increased. In fact, the budget for aged people in Japan was 80 triiion yen in 2020. In addition to this, there is another serious problem in Japan. Despite the younger generation carries a huge burden to support seniors, they are supported less by the government. This phenomenon is called "silver democracy" in which the elderly people represent a large proportion of voters and thus have large influence on politics. Hence, politicians are elected who prioritize the interests of the seniors. As a consequence, the younger generation are supported less by the government in terms of education and childcare. To conclude, I believe there are two impacts that ageing society have. Firstly, the social welfare budget have become larger and larger, and secondly, the working generation are supported less than seniors.