Nowadays people are spending more time away from home, because they spend longer time in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages?

These days the trend of extended working hours far from home by many people can be observed in our society. In my opinion, Its major advantage is related to the financial growth of a person; contrarily its drawback is the disturbance in personal life imposing health issues. The utmost advantage of being available at a job for a longer period is financial growth. If an individual is headed more into work, one can better mingle with the work environment, and definitely be able to not only improve his skills but also learn new ones. In this way, they can work efficiently for a longer duration with better skills. As wages are directly proportional to the number of working hours and responsibilities held by a person; it may lead to more earning which enhances their purchasing power. To exemplify, the University survey has shown that 80% of employees are working for a long time just to increase their income and fulfil their luxury needs. On the other hand, while we consider the repercussions of this scenario, it is a disturbance in their personal life. The key reason behind this is less time spent with family causes weak bonding among family members. In other words, there are more chances of conflicts with the partner or children, when they are not sharing their issues and spending quality time with each other. As a result, the person may undergo stress and anxiety, and even other mental health issues may occur such as depression. To add to this, psychological issues generate other physical health problems. For instance, had my friend spent more time with his family, he wouldn't have gone through a divorce and suffering from depression. To summarise, it is asserted that people should work hard to earn more, but mostly it is done at the cost of the relationships with their near and dear ones. I believe that although it is beneficial to work longer hours for financial growth, yet the demerit is disturbed family life of an individual which might lead to deteriorated health.