Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

There is no doubt that a vast majority of workers have been working for a longer time than the predetermined hours. This is an appalling result of the increasingly fierce competition in the job market. We should develop a detailed understanding of the issue that this disgraceful situation has raised for individuals. First of all, it is undeniable that most employees have to work overtime to satisfy their managers’ requirements or show a high level of enthusiasm towards their jobs to consolidate their positions. In this way, they are able to keep their jobs and earn a lucrative income to pay their rent and afford their livelihoods. For instance, a significant number of office workers working in international companies in Beijing present that in order to keep their decent jobs, they have to stay back to continue doing extra tasks after regular working hours. They are living in an overly competitive atmosphere. Most people who constantly work overtime and compete with others follow unhealthy lifestyles, which is problematic for their physical well-being. Those who burn the midnight oil and wake up early in the morning to work always collapse in front of the screen instead of doing exercise when having their spare time, thus increasing their risks of catching illnesses. As an illustration, most of the professional accountants who are being hired by the top-level accounting firms say that they feel exhausted frequently due to staying indoors to work, which occupies their most of time rather than going for a walk outside. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions about reasons and causes of working beyond regular hours. I consider that the increasing competitive working atmosphere is the reason, and this terrible trend leads to health issues for employees.